All is Well – Tribute to My Grandad

Tadhg Ó Ciardha Music

“All is Well” is an American hymn, which dates back to the 1840’s. I first heard it from the album of the same name by Sam Amidon (one of the best performers around right now in my opinion.) The narrative of the song describes the process of accepting death, from the perspective of a person on their journey into the afterlife. Sam’s version features lush orchestra and I thoroughly recommend listening to it. Thomas Bartlett aka. Doveman also does a great version on piano. I recorded my accapella version during my first experience in a professional studio setting.

This song holds a very special meaning. When my granddad died back in October, this was the last song which I sang to him on his death-bed. I also subsequently performed this song at his funeral. My granddad was a man renowned for his kind and gentle nature, he always stood up for…

View original post 227 more words

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

